Post Format

scripture inspiration

2 comments

As I have been preparing to serve my mission { in 28 days! } I have been searching for new ways to get inspired about the scriptures. Today’s inspiration actually came last night close to midnight and I stayed up until 2am trying it out for myself.  – It. Was. Amazing.

The study tip shared in the blog I found said to read one block of scripture three different times, and each time to mark things with a different color. Yes, I said that correctly- THREE times! I followed her process on the first page and this is the result:

photo 1

I’ll show you the process…

The first time I read through the chapter I marked the things that initially stood out to me and tried to catch the basic ideas the section was about.

photo 2

At this point I knew there was more I could get out of it, so I was excited to read it through again. This time the emphasis was on doctrine, definitions, life applications, and anything else to ‘dig a little deeper.’

photo 3

From here I didn’t think I had room to highlight or write anything else even if I did find something. I was wrong. The third time through I was shocked at the things that came to mind as I read.

photo 4

I asked questions, I read footnotes and cross references. Things kept connecting in a different way than it has for me before. Chapter 1 of 1 Nephi is probably the most read chapter in the whole book. I’ve read it countless times, but it has never come alive for me as it did this time. From studying in this way I have made a new connection to my scriptures and I have another new depth to the scripture, 2 Nephi 32:3 “Feast upon the words of Christ.”

The first sentence of the introduction to the Book of Mormon says, ” The Book of Mormon is a volume of scripture comparable to the Bible…and contains, as does the Bible, the fullness of the everlasting gospel.” I know that by not only reading, but by also pondering and studying the words and then praying to know the truth of them, ANYONE can know of these things. I have done so, and I know that these are the words of God through his prophets.

Take the time to slow down and really study the Book of Mormon and Bible because “the words of Christ will tell you all things what ye should do” (2 Nephi 32:3).

2 Comments Join the Conversation

  1. This is an amazing example of what we need to do when we read and study our scriptures. Loved it.

    Like

    Reply

    • Love this! I have been doing this this week and it is amazing! Thanks for sharing

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

